top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlan Buck

0-5

Not an unfortunate record of my Tampa Bay Buccaneers, but the current tally of my airport issues since February. The struggle is real, y'all.

In the five times I have flown this year, all five have left me with issues. I've slept on an airport floor, I've been re-routed, rebooked, had my flight canceled, and even watched from another plane my connecting flight to Africa leave as I was landing from the first leg. All of the mess and drama you hear about on the news about traveling right now, it's all real. And here I am again on the receiving end of flight nightmares. I have been rebooked for Saturday, so fingers crossed I make it out without any issues or delays.


Being an eternal optimist the I am, these incidents have not soured me, but given me hope. I have seen the worst of people and the best of people, all as a result of these travel delays. People cussing and screaming at airport workers, as if they enjoy coming to work knowing there are going to get yelled by strangers all day long. But I have also seen incredible kindness from these same airport workers, who even in the face of stress and anxiety, have a positive outlook and calm demeanor. Not all of them, of course, I've seen a few lose their cool as well. But wouldn't you if you had to work all day being called names in a rude manner? I've decided to always try and and be nice. To remember that that employee is someone's Mother, Father, Grandparent, Sibling, or Spouse. I will continue to do so, even though it's incredibly frustrating. It sure beats the alternative. So if you are traveling, know ahead of time that there is a highly likely chance you will encounter some sort of delay. Just try and be nice and act like your Grandma is watching. #Fulbright #WorldOfLearning #Meredith

203 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page